Greenock Morton Football Club, commonly known as Morton or The Ton, is a Scottish Professional Football Club based in Greenock, Inverclyde.  Established as “Morton Football Club” on 4th October, 1874, the club is one of the oldest senior football clubs in Scotland, and changed its name to ”Greenock Morton” in 1994.

A founder member of the Scottish Second Division, in 1893, Morton first gained promotion to the Scottish First Division six years later, finishing fourth in its first season in the top flight. The club now competes in the Scottish Championship and plays home matches at Cappielow Park, sponsored by Dalrada, their home since 1879.

Since June 2021, the football club has been community owned on behalf of its supporters, through the majority shareholding of Morton Club Together.


Club Honours

Scottish Cup

Winners: 1921–22

Runners-up: 1947–48

Scottish League Cup

Runners-up: 1963–64

Scottish Challenge Cup

Runners-up: 1992

Scottish Football League

Runners-up: 1916–17

Scottish First Division/Division Two

Champions: (6) 1949–50, 1963–64, 1966–67, 1977–78, 1983–84, 1986–1987

Runners-up: (4) 1899–1900, 1928–29, 1936–37, 2012–13

Scottish Second Division/League One

Champions: (3) 1994–95, 2006–07, 2014–15

Runners-up: 2005–06

Scottish Third Division

Champions: 2002–03