Class of 2017 inducted into Hall of Fame tonight

The Greenock Morton Hall of Fame returns tonight with the class of 2017 set to be inducted during a gala ceremony at Greenock Town Hall.

The event, organised and hosted by the Greenock Morton Supporters’ Trust, sees a second select group of Cappielow icons honoured.

Our inaugural 2014 class saw the 1922 Scottish Cup winning side, Jimmy Cowan, Billy Campbell, Tommy Orr, Allan McGraw, Andy Ritchie, Derek Collins, and long-serving kitman Andy Bryan all initiated.

This evening’s categories are Player, Manager, and Team, and the nominees are as follows:

Pre-1960s (Two players to be inducted): John Bradford, Jackie Wright, George French, Jimmy Gourlay, John Calder, and Billy Steel.

Post 1960s (Two players to be inducted): Joe Harper, George Anderson, Davie Hayes, Jim Holmes, David Wylie, and Peter Weatherson.

Manager (One manager to be inducted): Benny Rooney, Hal Stewart, or Bob Cochrane.

Team (One team to be inducted): 1963-64, 1977-78, or 1995-96.

Last year’s event saw approximately £12,000 raised for the club’s youth development, and trust board member Allan Feeney revealed all proceeds from tonight would also be reinvested in the academy.

Allan said: “The first one was very well received, there were over 300 people there and we raised a significant sum for the youth academy.

“It should be a great night for the fans and will bring all the supporters’ clubs together. The night is being hosted by Des McKeown and there will be an auction with some special one-off prizes.”

Tickets, which includes a three-course meal, are priced at £50, or £450 for a table of 10 and there is still limited availability. To book a seat email the GMST on: